Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


In writing, dreams usually play a big role in that they inspire some kind of idea, scene, or conflict resolution that we’ve previously been wrestling with. Today Christina discusses dreams in writing as inspiration and how they can become plot points in other works.

Dreams as Inspiration

Dreams as Inspiration

Several years ago, I had a dream that I was able to type directly into a story idea. I don’t mean in a “John had a vivid dream that night” kind of way, but in a “Get this…” way. The dream started with a neighbor (faceless woman of about 40) coming over to visit a mother (unknown woman wearing a high-necked collared blouse) and daughter (me). The neighbor was crying because her brother had died. “Mother” and I sat on the couch in our formal living room, me nodding sympathetically, then staring in horror as my mother replied, “Well, our computer died this week.” I love it! Who would have thought of something so clever?! Well, I would, I suppose.

On the other hand, I’ve never been one to include character dreams within a story. And when I read books in which the characters experience them, I find myself skimming. I’d rather keep on with the action and dialogue in a book than read about another character walking down a hallway with several doors, opening one after another only to discover nonsensical/foreshadowy scenes behind each. Before you write me hate mail, yes, I know some of the best novels of all time involve pithy dream scenes that have helped shape literature as we know it (and I’m not important enough to receive hate mail anyway). The dream distaste likely exemplifies some sort of impatience and immaturity on my part. I’m okay with this.

How do you all feel about elaborate dream sequences in books? Are you including them within your own writing? I’d love to hear your thoughts. And when you’re ready to publish those thoughts (or dreams), Kbuuk is ready to help. And when you’re ready to take notes in that dreamy book and share thoughts with friends via social media, Kbuuk can help with that too! Now you get to writing and I’m going to take a nap.

Ready to Publish?