Tags

, , , , , , , ,


As writers we have a responsibility to preserve a language that helps us to communicate with one another. It is important that we know the rules, and that we try to adhere to them, or at least when we bend and break them, it’s for the sake of improving communication, rather than impeding it. Today Christina responds to a blog post from a Freshly Pressed WordPress post from Neurotaylor back in January entitled “Why Good Writing Matters,” by Kathleen Taylor. So while you’re penning your next piece, be mindful that good writing does in fact matter.

book-shelf-desk

Word Matters

Remember on Friends when Rachael wrote Ross a twelve-page letter requesting he take responsibility for everything wrong in their relationship? It resulted in an explosive fight in which Ross screamed, “’You ARE’ is spelled Y-O-U-APOSTROPHE!-R-E!” There you have it. Good writing matters. This isn’t an original thought on my part though (“No?” you ask in disbelief). Nope. Seems others, in particular Kathleen Taylor, who wrote this article titled “Why Good Writing Matters” have the same opinion.

As I read Taylor’s article, outlining the fallacies concerning fuzzy, ambiguous wording and how it impacts everything from science to politics to the bedroom, I grew more and more impassioned and self-righteous, thinking my own writing and word use entirely accurate. Once when I was five, a neighbor asked me, “Do you not want to go with us to the store?” as she stood outside her station wagon. I thought for half a second and replied, “No,” meaning I did want to go to the store. The neighbor then haughtily drove away with me yelling, “I said I didn’t want to NOT go!” after her. Even then, I was passionate about correct wording in daily conversations.

Alas, I should simmer down. Even on this blog I’ve make glaring errors that Heather, Kbuuk’s marketing director, has graciously corrected (think adverse vs. averse – they sound so much alike, yet unlike I’d hoped, cannot be used interchangeably). But while I admit my own writing suffers greatly, I still love a good talkin’-to from experienced writers to those who lack the same wordy smarts. Quips like this line: “And a skilful writer has more armour against the linguistic trickery of others, another reason for learning to write well.” Yes! I love what we can achieve with words.

While I go call that old neighbor to explain myself and find out how the trip to the store went, you all start achieving your own great accomplishments with words, which can be published right here at Kbuuk.

Create an ebook