Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


We’re two weeks into Lent, and we hope you didn’t give up anything extreme, like the Internet or reading, but during this time of Christian reflection and abstinence, we wanted to touch upon the topic of Christian literature again. Previously, Christina explained reasons she didn’t like Christian literature. Today, she explains what she does enjoy in Christian literature. I definitely second the C.S. Lewis sentiment.

Two Types of Christian Literature I Enjoy

C.S. Lewis Quote

Image courtesy of the Patron of the Arts Facebook page

If you read my last post about Christian fiction, you know I’m a big fat snob and dislike most of it. However, my gripes are generally against that certain type of Christian lit: the type with hidden agendas, flowery titles and miscarriages (so many miscarriages in Christian books!). There are other types, however, that I’m all over. Well, two to be exact…

Type 1: Christian almost murdered while defending faith and lives to tell about it. I read one of these before heading to Rwanda last year. Left to Tell is the story of Immaculée Ilibagiza, a Rwandan-born Christian who survived the 1994 genocide by hiding in a bathroom with seven other women for 91 days and praying like nobody’s business. Say wha? Another treasure, which you likely read in high school – The Hiding Place. It’s one thing to survive a Holocaust, it’s another to nearly die in a concentration camp while thanking God for everything, even the lice crawling over your body. I’m telling you, Christians can be kick-butt tough. And I for one enjoy reading about them.

Type 2: Anything by C.S. Lewis – I loved The Chronicles of Narnia before I even became a Christian. Come on – you can’t tell me Aslan isn’t the coolest superhero ever to die and come back to life. And then there’s The Screwtape Letters. This book is a compilation of correspondence between a demon on earth to his mentor down below. Crazy-smart writing, shockingly accurate depiction of the struggles of Christianity. (And super-snappy character names like Wormwood.)

You know why I enjoy these books? Nobody is hiding their agenda in the disguise of a bunch of ladies playing bridge. Nope. Aslan obviously represents Jesus, and Corrie Ten Boom really does love the Lord above. No sneaky prose to secretly convert us, just good stories to convey what life is like believing the Gospel. I’ll take two.

Create an ebook